What is a zodiac?

The word ‘zodiac’ comes from both Latin and Greek. It means circle of life or animal figures. According to the ancient Romans, the beginning of the year was marked by the Spring Equinox and the beginning of Aries season.

In Western Astrology, the Zodiac represents the 12 astrological signs such as Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. Each sign occupies 30 degrees of celestial longitude. The constellation the Sun is passing through at the moment shows the ‘sign season’ we are currently living. For example, from March 20th to April 20th each year, the Sun is in the sign and constellation of Aries marking the Aries season.

The zodiac is not only an astrological term but also recognized in astronomy as the annual path the Sun takes across our sky and the cosmos which takes 365 ¼ days to complete. The Sun travels through each sign for 28 to 31 days, and its travel through those 12 signs completes one full year.

Whichever constellation the Sun was traversing during the time of your birth becomes your Sun sign. When a Natal Chart also known as a Birth Chart is constructed for a person, the positions of the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto and their relationship to one another constitutes the beginning of Natal Astrology of that person.

To know more about the Natal Chart, click here.

what is the zodiac

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *